The Agrology Profession Act specifies that public members be appointed to the Alberta Institute of Agrologists (AIA) council by the Alberta cabinet. These public members are appointed for a three-year term and can be members for two terms (maximum of six years). Public members fulfill the role of ensuring that the institute effectively manages the profession in an ethical and fiduciary manner on behalf of the Alberta government. The public members are accountable to the Alberta government. All expenses related to council participation are paid for by the government. The public 2018 public members for AIA are:

Albert J. Schuld, P.Eng.
Public Member

Larry Staples, P.Eng., FCAE
Public Member

Ms. Janet Blayone
Complaints Review & Hearings Public Member